Book review: Ray Connolly’s Being Elvis: A Lonely Life is an excellent, though tragic, examination of the price of fame

Being Elvis

On the surface, Elvis Presley seemed to have it all. Money, gold records, women, incredible fame. Yet underneath was a lonely man, addicted to prescription drugs and terrified that, at any moment, it might all be taken away from him. In Being Elvis: A Lonely Life, music journalist and screenwriter Ray Connolly steps into the role of biographer, following the life of a Tupelo dreamer, who achieved a level of fame and notoriety never seen before, and perhaps never seen since.... Read More | Share it now!

Book Review: Cut by Marc Raabe is a page turner of a thriller for fans of Stieg Larsson and Val McDermid

Cut - Mark Raabe

Cut, the new book from Marc Raabe, starts with Gabriel, an eleven year old boy, discovering a secretive and disturbing crime that happened in the family home, before both his parents are killed. Then the story moves forward 29 years later and we learn where Gabriel is now, what happened to his little brother and just how what happened that night has followed him, and why after so many years someone is pursuing him with messages telling that they know what Gabriel had seen and what he’d done that night.... Read More | Share it now!